Pulled pork


At the weekend I decided to try pulled pork, I’m not a huge fan of roast pork or pork casserole (although I’ll scoff chorizo and lean smokey bacon til the cows, or pigs, come home) so was a little apprehensive about whether I’d like the end result.

Sadly I planned to slow cook the pork and didn’t get hold of the meat til Saturday lunch time (organisation fail!) so it was a supper treat for hubby and I. Here’s how I made it.

1. Garlic, celery, herbs and spices went into the slow cooker with just shy of a kilo of boneless pork shoulder on top. Add a can of duet Pepsi, a good squirt of BBQ sauce and some boiling water. Leave on high for 6 hours.

20120718-153945.jpg
2. Get pork out of slow cooker, I separated the fat away easily but I guess you could leave it, and using two forks shred it up. I put half the pork aside for a stir fry at this stage.
3. Put shredded pork into a saucepan with some of the cooking juice, a little honey and another squirt of BBQ sauce. Simmer to allow the pork to mop the juices up.
4. To serve put pork on bread rolls, I topped mine with low fat cheese and grilled before eating with plenty of cooked onions, lettuce, tomato, gherkin, guacamole and more BBQ sauce for hubby.

I was pleased with how satisfying it was – great comfort food that will stick to your ribs. The left over pork was used the day with some noodles, stir fry veggies, soy sauce and chilli sauce for all four of us. The meat cost less than a fiver and it fed two hungry adults and a whole family, I could have got one of the spooky water and hormone pumped chickens from tesco for the same price but his had a lot more flavour.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipe

Leave a Reply

