What’s in a name?


Would not that which we call a rose smell the same by any other name?

Not quite it seems. My boys are both growing up too quickly, so quickly in fact that with a nearly full-time job, professional studying, mountains of laundry and bizarre questions to answer I haven’t touched my blog for ages. One slightly sad side effect of the kids growing up is the youngest one has started calling me by my first name.

Nothing wrong with that per se (I’ve varied between first names and Mum and Dad for my parents since my teens) but it feels odd for a two year-old to look at me and see not just his Mummy who used to be the centre of his world but an individual with a name, like his friends and nursery teachers. Just to rub in the whole growing up too quickly thing guess where he called me by my name first? On the toilet – no nappies or potties for this tot.

What are your thoughts on this? We’ve always said we don’t have a problem with being called by our first names but didn’t expect it quite so soon.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. littleflowerbaby

    Funnily enough, I was having a conversation about this with my MiL today. My OH called her by her first name for a while when he was about 2, but then returned to calling her mummy. I have a friend it also happened to and her son also now calls her mum. So you may find it’s just a phase! I totally understand how you feel about it!

  2. Interesting post! I call my mum by her first name and I’m not too sure why or how I started! But when I first met my husband, he thought it was a sign that I’d been adopted! Funny how you get so used to doing things you don’t realise they’ll seems strange to other people!

Leave a Reply

