Nightmares


[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=bed&iid=5063324″ src=”2/f/1/9/Overhead_view_of_9b2b.jpg?adImageId=7710519&imageId=5063324″ width=”380″ height=”275″ /]We are at that stage of toddler development where nightmares seem to be bothering us more and more. I am sure some are genuine, some are an excuse to get out of bed and have a cuddle and some fears happen while he is awake (Daddy yawns like a monster apparently). I am fortunate in that I rarely remember having dreams or nightmares, maybe my subconcious is so well balenced that I don’t need them or maybe there is something deeply wrong with me.

My other half has nightmares and vivid dreams and sometimes sleep talks or walks so the story of the man who was aquitted after killing his wife in his sleep has sent shivers down my spine. Brian Thomas had gone to sleep in his camper van next to his wife after a being disturbed by youths in a car park, its thought that he had a nightmare about an intruder coming in as a result of this and while asleep killed his wife.

We’ve never come close to real harm but a few years ago (around the time of the glasgow airport terrorist attacks) hubby woke me up in the middle of the night demanding to see my hands, being half asleep I meekly showed him my hands and then (waking up a little) asked angrily what was going on to be told “sorry – I thought you were concealing a sharp object

A few nights later he woke me up again – when asked why he told me it was “bloody good fun“.

His sleep disturbances seem to happen in clusters – we’ll be fine for ages and then have a few disturbances in a week – one thing is for sure I will not be sleeping well next to my husband tonight after he watches any scary movies for a long time.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

Filed under 2 year old child

One response to “Nightmares

  1. I’ve sleepwalked once in the last three years…hardly anything to write home about!!!

    Don’t let it get in the way of a good story though.

Leave a Reply

