Back to the Ws


After two weeks at home (mainly under a duvet trying to cure my cold with chocolate and wine) this morning was back to reality with a bump. I was carrying around a stone more than Id like to and half a stone more than normal before I caught the lurgy from hell a few weeks before Christmas. With chest infections, irritable airways, spiking temperatures and finally a secondary ear infection I decided to give the gym a rest.

While Ive not quite been brave enough to weigh myself (yet) the return to work heralded the return to the other big W in my life – weightwatchers. In the post Christmas misery of going back to real life I decided my diet needed to return to normal too, no more medicinal chocolates.

I am a serial diet flirt. I’ve had more diets than boyfriend. While the twin Ws have been there most of my adult life I can’t stop myself flirting with other diets; there was the one where I had to eat a grapefruit a day to do something with my insulin levels, the awful three night stand with Atkins, calorie counting with My Fitness Pal, some food combining one where fruit and veg MUST be consumed before meat and veg (there was a table of food digestion times appealing to the pseudo scientist in me), the 5:2 diet was dumped when we hit a crisis and he couldn’t help me with two poorly kids and slimming world (great for a quick weight loss but too high maintenance for me with my lazy cooking in the longer term).

20130102-214020.jpg

I know WW may not give me the same exhilarating weight loss and the thrill of doing something illicit behind my long term diet partner’s back (sorry WW I love you but I can’t commit to a monogamous relationship).

A day in and I think I’ve coped, Boots had a pathetic lack of food at lunchtime but M&S had some excitingly yummy food which my long term partner told me I could eat (love the iPad app) and as I had skipped breakfast due to a domestic crisis involving a temperamental downstairs cloakroom I got a salad on top of my sarnie (Fuller for Longer beef and cheese wrap, highly recommended).

I was a good girl I committed to what we’d eat for tea (healthy version of a mushroom stroganoff) and nodded encouragingly at my partner’s new clothes (WW now helps you develop good habits).

I am hoping that I can commit to stick with WW this time as we’re off to the Riviera in May.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mummy, weightwatchers, work

Leave a Reply

